DSC_0656. MMXX   2  Galerie du Rift.JPG

MEMORIES AND MEDIATIONS

VIRTUAL EXHIBITION

Commissioner Martin Beauregard

Rift Gallery, Ville-Marie

From March 20 to August 31, 2020

Project of Atelier les Mille Feuilles, printmaking art center

Quebec Council of Arts and Letters  

Photos: Isabelle Roby
08.jpg

INSTALLATION

1.qr-code.png
91545438_553016395643885_183588404125813

VIRTUAL VISIT

Qr codes

Photos: Émilie B. Côté

MMXX

More than ever, the world of printmaking is unconventionally transformed in this postmodern digital period. My pursuit of the image and my readings on religious / political mediation commit me to focus on the cultural memory of the “crucifix and the cross” within contemporary art. The work "MMXX" is a hybrid interdisciplinary creation conceived under a new approach and questioning the sense of the image leading the visual language towards other horizons. The "fine art print" is revealed as a “participative installation sculpture”.

 

MMXX exceeds three meters in height and is made-up of thirteen cubes edifying the symbol of the cross. Spaced and suspended by wires, these cubes testify to the imposing presence of this highly publicized symbol in current social debates. The work represents my testimony of the crucifixion and invites us to reflect on religiosity leading along the increase in multicultural diversity.

 

The uncovered and lit interior of the thirteen cubes prioritizes the shape of the cross and symbolizes religion. Three of these cubes host a print created with a 3D printer which are inspired by 19th century European lithophanies. The three pieces reveal, in backlight, subjects relating to the environmental outrage caused to our Earth and symbolize the "Sacrifice of Christ".

 

Composed of aluminum panels, each cube is superimposed and covered with a colored digital print. The top and bottom of the cubes reveal the image of a tree's growth circles, reflecting the memory of time rooted in this species. The bark, like a skin, envelops the outer sides, from top to bottom, and glorifies the vitality of the growing tree facing, however, the devastating consequences of certain human actions.

 

The active participation of the spectator requires the use of the smartphone in order to access, by capturing QR codes, selected archives, in connection with the debates surrounding the crucifix in Quebec. The matrix images impregnated in the design of QR codes testify to the danger of the survival of our planet and symbolize the crucifixion of Man by Man, due to the pollution of air, water, environment and melting glaciers.

2020 Céline J. Dallaire © All rights reserved

 

CÉLINE J. DALLAIRE

Contemporary art gallery

 

140, 8e Rue

Rouyn-Noranda (Quebec)

Canada J9X 2A6

819 768-2916

celinejdallaire@gmail.com

DSC_0656. MMXX   2  Galerie du Rift.JPG

MÉMOIRES ET MÉDIATIONS

EXPOSITION VIRTUELLE

Commissaire Martin Beauregard

Galerie  du Rift, Ville-Marie

Du 20 mars au 31 août 2020

Projet de l'Atelier les Mille Feuilles, centre d'art imprimé

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec 

Photos: Isabelle Roby
08.jpg

Montage

1.qr-code.png
91545438_553016395643885_183588404125813

VISITE VIRTUELLE

Codes Qr

Photos: Émilie B. Côté

MMXX

Plus que jamais, l’univers de l’estampe se transforme de manière anticonformiste en cette période postmoderne du numérique. Ma poursuite de l’image et mes lectures sur la médiation religieuse/politique m’engagent à focaliser sur la mémoire culturelle « du crucifix et de la croix » au sein de l’art contemporain. L’œuvre « MMXX » est une création hybride interdisciplinaire conçue sous une nouvelle approche et remettant en question le sens de l’image menant le langage visuel vers d’autres horizons. L’estampe se révèle en tant que « sculpture installative participative ».

MMXX dépasse trois mètres de hauteur et est composée de treize cubes édifiant le symbole de la croix. Espacés et suspendus par des fils, ces cubes témoignent de la présence imposante de ce symbole hautement médiatisé dans les débats sociaux actuels. L’œuvre représente mon témoignage de la crucifixion et invite à une réflexion sur la religiosité face à l’accroissement de la diversité multiculturelle.

L’intérieur découvert et éclairé des treize cubes hiérarchise la forme de la croix et symbolise la religion. Trois de ces cubes hébergent des estampes créées à l’aide d’une imprimante 3D et inspirées de lithophanies européennes du 19e siècle.  Les trois pièces dévoilent, par rétroéclairage, des sujets portant sur l’outrage environnemental causé à notre Terre et symbolisent le « Sacrifice du Christ ».

Composé de panneaux en aluminium, chaque cube est superposé et recouvert d’une estampe numérique colorée. Les dessus et dessous des cubes dévoilent l’image de cercles de croissance d’un arbre, faisant foi de la mémoire du temps enraciné dans cette espèce.  L’écorce, telle une peau, enveloppe les côtés extérieurs, de haut en bas, et glorifie la vitalité de l’arbre en pleine croissance faisant face, toutefois, aux conséquences dévastatrices de certaines actions humaines.

La participation active du spectateur requiert l’utilisation du téléphone intelligent afin d’accéder, par la captation de codes QR, à des archives sélectionnées, en lien avec les débats entourant le crucifix au Québec. Les images matricielles imprégnées dans le design des codes QR témoignent du danger de la survie de notre planète et symbolisent la crucifixion de l’Homme par l’Homme, en raison de la pollution de l’air, de l’eau, de l’environnement et de la fonte des glaciers.

 Tous les droits réservés  2020  Céline J. Dallaire © All rights reserved

 

CÉLINE J. DALLAIRE

Galerie d'art contemporain

Contemporary art gallery

140, 8e Rue

Rouyn-Noranda (Québec)

Canada  J9X 2A6

819 768-2916

celinejdallaire@gmail.com